BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN & THE E STREET BAND - The Complete 1978 Radio Broadcasts (15CD)


• 15 CDs
• 130 tracks
• 24 page full colour booklet with rare photos and detailed liner notes

Bruce Springsteen & The E-Street Band - The Complete 1978 Radio Broadcasts

The entire original KMET, WMMS, WNEW, KSAN and over twenty more, FM radio broadcasts from explosive 1978 live performances at The Roxy Theater on July 7, The Agora Ballroom on August 9, The Capitol Theater on September 19, The Fox Theater on September 30 and The Winterland Ballroom on December 15.

By the time Darkness On The Edge Of Town was released in June 1978, Bruce Springsteen was firmly established as America's most exhilarating rock performer. He and the E Street Band relentlessly toured the country from May of that year until January 1st 1979, playing 115 intense shows that have become the stuff of legend.

This incendiary new 15-disc set gathers five exceptional performances that were broadcast on FM radio between July and December, and finds the Boss at the peak of his powers, tackling a huge range of material with unstinting energy and passion.

Presented with copious background notes and images, it's an essential addition to any serious Springsteen collection.

Professionally re-mastered with background liners and rare archival photos.


Live at The Roxy Theater, West Hollywood, CA 7th July 1978

Disc One
1. Intro / ‘No private parties'
2. Rave On
3. Badlands
4. Spirit In The Night
5. Darkness On The Edge Of Town
6. Candy's Room
7. For You
8. Point Blank
9. The Promised Land
10. Prove It All Night
11. Intro / ‘Alice In Wonderland'
12. Racing In The Street
13. Thunder Road
14. Outro / ‘Incredible performance'

Disc Two
1. Paradise By The ‘C'
2. Fire
3. Adam Raised A Cain
4. Mona
5. She's The One
6. Growin' Up
7. It's Hard To Be A Saint In The City
8. Backstreets
9. Heartbreak Hotel
10. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)

Disc Three
1. Independence Day (solo piano)
2. Born To Run
3. Because The Night
4. Raise Your Hand
5. Radio comments / ‘Incredible'
6. Twist & Shout

Broadcast on KMET-FM, this outstanding show finds the Boss on intense form near the outset of the Darkness Tour. The remarkable setlist includes live premieres of Point Blank, Raise Your Hand and Independence Day (performed solo on piano for the only time on the tour), as well as rock'n'roll standards such as Twist & Shout, Rave On and Heartbreak Hotel. Live at The Agora Ballroom, Cleveland OH 9th August 1978

Disc Four
1. Intro
2. Summertime Blues
3. Badlands
4. Spirit In The Night
5. Darkness On The Edge Of Town
6. Factory
7. The Promised Land
8. Prove It All Night
9. Racing In The Street - Thunder Road
10. Jungleland

Disc Five
1. Intro
2. Paradise By The C
3. Fire
4. Sherry Darling
5. Not Fade Away
6. Gloria - She's The One
7. Growin' Up
8. Backstreets
9. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)

Disc Six
1. Intro
2. 4th Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
3. Born To Run
4. Because The Night
5. Raise Your Hand
6. Twist And Shout

Broadcast on WMMS-FM, this free gig commemorated the station's change of name from WHK-FM, and was simultaneously transmitted on other stations to an estimated total audience of three million. Capturing the Boss and his cohorts at the top of their game and in outstanding fidelity, it's one of the very best surviving shows from 1978. Live at The Capitol Theater, Passiac NJ 19th September 1978

Disc Seven
1. Intro
2. Badlands
3. Streets Of Fire
4. Spirit In The Night
5. Darkness On The Edge Of Town
6. Independence Day
7. The Promised Land
8. Prove It All Night
9. Racing In The Street
10. Thunder Road
11. Meeting Across The River
12. Jungleland

Disc Eight
1. Kitty's Back
2. Fire
3. Candy's Room
4. Because The Night
5. Point Blank
6. Not Fade Away
7. She's The One
8. Backstreets
9. Rosalita
10. Sandy

Disc Nine
1. Born To Run
2. 10th Avenue Freeze-Out
3. Detroit Medley
4. Raise Your Hand

With the Boss's energy peaking on his home turf, this remarkable performance was broadcast on WNEW-FM (and others). Widely regarded as a highlight of the Boss's long career, it features what many consider his finest ever renditions of Racing In The Street and Thunder Road, among many others. Live at The Fox Theater, Atlanta GA 30th September 1978

Disc Ten
1. Good Rockin' Tonight
2. Badlands
3. Spirit In The Night
4. Darkness On The Edge Of Town
5. Independence Day
6. The Promised Land
7. Prove It All Night
8. Racing In The Street
9. Thunder Road
10. Jungleland

Disc Eleven
1. Santa Claus Is Comin' To Town
2. Night Train
3. Fire
4. Candy's Room
5. Because The Night
6. Point Blank
7. Not Fade Away / Gloria / She's The One
8. Backstreets / Sad Eyes

Disc Twelve
1. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
2. Born To Run
3. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
4. Detroit Medley
5. Raise Your Hand

Simulcast by around twenty FM stations in the south-eastern US, this show was originally scheduled for July 23rd, but postponed due to the Boss coming down with a throat infection. Presented in its entirety here, it finds him tearing through many of his best-loved songs (including stand-out renditions of Independence Day and Backstreets), as well his only known performance of James Brown's Night Train, in front of a wildly appreciative audience of almost 4000. Winterland Ballroom, San Francisco, CA 15th December 1978

Disc Thirteen
1. Badlands
2. Streets Of Fire
3. Spirit In The Night
4. Darkness On The Edge Of Town Factory
5. The Promised Land
6. Prove It All Night
7. Racing In The Streets
8. Thunder Road
9. Jungleland

Disc Fourteen
1. Backstreets
2. The Ties That Bind
3. Santa Story
4. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
5. The Fever
6. Fire
7. Candy's Room
8. Because The Night
9. Point Blank
10. Mona / Preacher's Daughter
11. She's The One

Disc Fifteen
1. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
2. Born to Run
3. Detroit Medley
4. 10th Avenue Freeze-Out
5. Raise Your Hand
6. Quarter to Three

Regarded by connoisseurs as perhaps the finest show of the Boss's entire career, this exceptional performance was broadcast on KSAN-FM, whose DJ Norm Winer promises at the outset: "Tonight you're gonna hear the concert of your life!" Typifying the explosive momentum Springsteen had generated in preceding months, the set boasts an energy and charisma that few artists have ever rivalled.


Title The Complete 1978 Radio Broadcasts
Catalogue No SSCDBOX10
Barcode 5294162601020