DONOVAN - Live 1965-1969 (2CD)


• Collection of live performances
• Includes BBC radio broadcasts
• Digitally remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
• Interviews, background liners and rare images

Donovan, live at the BBC 1965-1969

Donovan Leitch burst into the UK hit parade in March 1965 with a number 4 hit for Pye Records in Catch The Wind. This recording had been preceded by a three-week run on the TV programme Ready Steady Go, unprecedented for an artist yet to release his first record.

While Granada had Ready Steady Go, the BBC had a handful of contemporary light programmes for radio to host the 'happening' current acts such as Saturday Club, Folk Room and later; Nightride and Top Gear.

Here we travel back to 1965, where Donovan made numerous trips into BBC's Paris Theatre Studios and where he recorded these 30 songs between 1965-1969 included on this release, accompanying himself on guitar with additional stand-up bass provided by Spike Heatley and Danny Thompson. This landmark release also includes fascinating interviews with host Brian Matthew.

Professionally re-mastered original broadcasts with background liners and rare archival photos.


Disc One

7th May
1. Catch The Wind (With Interview)
2. Who Killed Davy Moore

16th July
3. To Sing For You
4. Colours (With Interview)
5. Catch The Wind

30th July
6. The Candy Man
7. Colours (With Interview)
8. Working On The Railroad

24th September
9. Universal Soldier (With Interview)
10. Little Tin Soldier
11. Runnin' From Home

24th December
12. Turquoise (With Interview)
13. Bert's Blues
14. Daddy You've Been On My Mind

3rd March
15. Hampstead Incident
16. Mellow Yellow (With Interview)
17. The Tinker And The Crab

Disc Two

16th February
1. Lalena
2. The Tinker And The Crab
3. There Is A Mountain

22nd March
4. Jennifer Juniper (With Interview)
5. Lalena
6. As I Recall It

12th April
7. Young Girl Blues

12th July
8. The Entertaining Of A Shy Little Girl
9. Hurdy-Gurdy Man (With Interview)
10. Mad John's Escape

26th July
11. Skip Along Sam
12. Hast Thou Seen The Unicorn

4th July
13. Barabajagal (With Interview)


Title Live 1965-1969
Catalogue No LC2CD5033
Format 2CD packed into a 6 panel digipack, UV gloss with an 8 page booklet
Barcode 5053792503315