THE GRATEFUL DEAD - New Years Eve 1990 Oakland Coliseum Arena (3CD)

Category: ROX VOX CDs

• Exhilarating live performance at Oakland Coliseum Arena, CA
• Includes the entire KFOG-FM Broadcast
• Digitally remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
• Background liners

The Grateful Dead, live on New Year's Eve 1990 at Oakland Coliseum Arena

1990 marked the 25th anniversary of the Dead's formation. They spent much of the year touring, culminating in a legendary three-night stand at the Oakland Coliseum, in their native San Francisco, broadcast on KFOG-FM.

This release presents their final set of the year, featuring Bruce Hornsby and Vince Welnick on keyboards (replacing the late Brent Mydland) and guest appearances from Branford Marsalis on sax and Hamza El Din on percussion. The band are having a blast, their energy level is high and they tackle material spanning bluegrass, gospel, pop and of course, psychedelia.

It's presented here in superb fidelity, together with background notes and images.


Disc One - First set
1. Radio Intro / Tuning
2. Hell In A Bucket
3. Jack-A-Roe
4. Wang Dang Doodle
5. Row Jimmy
6. Mexicali Blues
7. Big River
8. Bird Song *
9. Promised Land *
10. 1st Set Recap
11. John Barlow On Brent Mydland's Death
12. Ken Nordine's Flibberdy Jib

Disc Two - Second set
1. Countdown To Midnight
2. Not Fade Away *
3. Eyes Of The World *
4. Dark Star *
5. Drums **

Disc Three - Second set continued
1. Space *
2. The Other One *
3. Wharf Rat *
4. Not Fade Away (Reprise) *
Encore: 5. The Weight *
6. 2nd Set Recap
7. Johnny B. Goode *
8. Radio Credits

* With Branford Marsalis On Tenor And Soprano Sax
** With Hamza El Din On Percu


Title New Years Eve 1990 Oakland Coliseum Arena
Catalogue No RV3CD2056
Format 3CD set
Barcode 5292317205628