MARVIN GAYE - The Midnight Special, Atlanta '74 (CD)

Category: ROX VOX CDs

• Incredible performance on The Midnight Special
• Includes the entire NBC TV Broadcast
• Presented here together with background notes and images

Marvin Gaye, live on NBC's The Midnight Special, September 6th 1974

Following a self-imposed four-year exile from the stage, Marvin Gaye triumphantly returned to live performance in January 1974. Playing to rapturous audiences across the United States, he showcased the powerful, socially aware music he'd made on his landmark What's Goin On album, as well as other hits from the length of his career.

In September, a TV special edition of The Midnight Special, broadcast on NBC, was devoted to him, featuring a gig in Braves Field, Atlanta Georgia a month earlier.

That performance is presented here, together with background notes and images.


1. What's Goin' On
2. Let's Get It On
3. How Sweet It Is
4. Inner City Blues
5. I'll Be Doggone (Medley)
6. Try It Baby
7. Can I Get A Witness
8. You're A Wonderful One
9. Stubborn Kind Of Fellow
10. How Sweet It Is
11. Trouble Man
12. Let's Get It On
13. Come Get To This
14. Interview
15. Jan


Title The Midnight Special, Atlanta '74
Catalogue No RVCD2068
Format CD
Barcode 5292317206823