TOWNES VAN ZANDT & GUY CLARK - Live... Texas '91 (CD)

Category: KLONDIKE CDs

• Brilliant performance at the Cactus Cafe, Austin, Texas
• Includes the entire KUT 90.5FM broadcast
• Digitally remastered for enhanced sound quality
• Background liners

Townes Van Zandt & Guy Clark, live from the Cactus Cafe, Austin, Texas on February 16th 1991

Six years before Townes Van Zandt's untimely death in 1997, his renewed studio activity produced a clutch of new material and re-workings, most of which sadly, still resides on tape. However, recordings such as this, offer fans a valuable opportunity to hear exactly what was going on underneath.

His appearance alongside lifelong friend Guy Clark in 1991 at the Cactus Cafe in Austin, Texas, remains one of his most prized performances of the period. Moreover, it helps to portray how Texas produced one of the modern era's most potent and elegant lyricists this side of Shakespeare. As Lester Bangs once said of the man, his songs come 'from a depth of feeling that few men can touch'.

Klondike very proudly presents the entire original KUT 90.5FM broadcast of Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark performing live from the Cactus Cafe, Austin, Texas on February 16th 1991.

Professionally remastered original broadcast with background liners, interviews and rare archival photos.


1. No Lonesome Tune
2. L.A. Freeway
3. Mr. Mudd & Mr. Gold
4. Fraternity Blues
5. Old Friends
6. Marie
7. Texas 1947
8. Homegrown Tomatoes
9. Let Him Roll
10. Intro To Pancho And Lefty
11. Pancho And Lefty
12. Snowin' On Raton
13. Desperados Waiting For A Train


Title Live... Texas '91
Catalogue No KLCD5072
Format CD
Barcode 5291012507211