THE MINDBENDERS - Live On Air 1966-68 (CD)


• Incredible performances live, in session at the BBC
• Includes the entire BBC radio broadcast
• Digitally remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
• Background liners and rare images

The Mindbenders, live on air, 22nd March 1966 - 13th August 1968

From their huge success with Wayne Fontana and The Game Of Love in January 1965, Manchester group The Mindbenders were a guaranteed success story.

However in 1965, Fontana took a solo route and left the band midway through a live show in 1965. While many groups may have collapsed under the pressure, The Mindbenders suddenly found a new lease of life when they struck gold with A Groovy Kind Of Love, a song that has become synonymous with the 'Swinging 60s'. It was this, and several other follow-up singles that prompted their numerous BBC sessions from 1966 to 1968.

London Calling very proudly presents The Mindbenders in session for the BBC with host Brian Matthew. Includes a wealth of revealing interviews and exclusive recordings, and charts the group's journey as pop stars and the developing talent of songwriter Eric Stewart.

Professionally re-mastered original broadcasts with background liners and rare archival photographs.


22nd March 1966
1. Groovy Kind of Love
2. Love is Good
3. Don't Cry No More

2nd May 1966
4. The Way You Do The Things You do
5. Can't Live With You, Can't Live Without You
6. All Night Worker

22nd August 1966
7. Seventh Son
8. Ashes to Ashes
9. Ride Your Pony

9th December 1966
10. Cool Jerk
11. I Want Her She Wants Me
12. Homework
13. The Morning After

14th March 1967
14. We'll Talk About It Tomorrow

21st September 1967
15. The Letter
16. We Can Work It Out
17. Rock Me Baby

23rd February 1968
18. Blessed Are The Lonely
19. Hold on Baby

13th August 1968
20. Omaha
21. Uncle Joe the Ice Cream Man
22. My White Bicycle

Ric Rothwell - drums
Eric Stewart - guitars, vocals
Bob Lang - bass
Graham Gouldman - bass (tracks 20 - 22)


Title Live On Air 1966-68
Catalogue No LCCD5036
Format CD Packed Into A 4 Panel Digipack, UV Gloss with an 8 Page Booklet
Barcode 5053792503612