JOHN COLTRANE feat. Art Blakey, Miles Davis, Eric Dolphy - American Broadcast Collection 1951-1963 (6CD Box)

Category: HI HAT CDs

• Entire original WJZ-FM, KWLW-AM, WBGO-FM, WDFM and WKCR Radio Broadcasts
• Covering live performances from New York, St. Louis and Pennsylvania
• Featuring legendary Jazz compatriots Art Blakey, Miles Davis, Eric Dolphy, Dizzy Gillespie
• Professionally re-mastered with background liners and rare archival photos
• Over 40 Tracks on 6 CDs with 16 page full colour booklet

John Coltrane American Broadcast Collection 1951-1963

In his remarkable career, tenor sax giant John Coltrane was a vital figure in the evolution of bop to free jazz.

This six-disc compilation documents that journey through radio broadcasts spanning 1951 to 1963, with a disc each of his live performances as part of groups with Dizzy Gillespie (in 1951) and Miles Davis (in 1957).

The other four discs feature Coltrane in the early 1960s, when he'd established himself as one of the most innovative bandleaders in jazz history.


Disc One
Birdland Jazz Club, New York, NY, 1951, WJZ-FM (First Broadcasts, with Dizzy Gillespie)
1. Congo Blues
2. Night In Tunisia
3. Yesterdays
4. Birk's Works
5. Good Bait
6. I Can't Get Started
7. Birk's Works (Version 2)
8. Jumping With Symphony Syd (Theme)

Tracks 1, 2, 3 - January 6th | Track 5 - January 13th | Tracks 4, 6, 8 - February 3rd | Track 7 - March 17th

Disc Two
Peacock Alley, St. Louis, MI, 1957, KWLW-AM (Miles Davis Quintet with John Coltrane)
1. Intro
2. Ah-Leu-Cha
3. A Foggy Day
4. All Of You
5. Woody N' You
6. Walkin'
7. Sign Off - The Theme
8. Two Bass Hit
9. Well You Needn't
10. Billy Boy
11. All Of You
12. Oleo
13. Announcement - The Theme

Tracks 1-7 - February 16th | Tracks 8-12 - February 23rd

Disc Three
Birdland Jazz Club, New York, NY, 1962, WJZ-FM (John Coltrane Quintet with Eric Dolphy)
1. Mr. P.C.
2. Miles' Mode (Aka Red Planet)
3. My Favorite Things
4. Announcement By Symphony Sid Torin
5. The Inch Worm
6. Mr. P.C.
7. Miles' Mode (Aka Red Planet)
8. My Favorite Things

Tracks 1-3 - February 9th | Tracks 4-8 - February 16th

Disc Four
Jazz Showcase, 1962, WBGO-FM (John Coltrane Quartet)
1. Blue Train
2. Naima
3. Impressions
4. Sax Prelude
5. I Want To Talk About You
6. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye

Disc Five
Pennsylvania State University, PA, 1963, WDFM (John Coltrane Quartet)
1. Bye Bye Blackbird
2. The Inch Worm
3. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
4. Mr. P.C.
5. I Want To Talk About You
6. My Favorite Things

All Tracks - January 19th

Disc Six
WKCR 50th Anniversary Broadcast, 1991 (John Coltrane with the U.S. Navy Jazz Combo) (A Retrospective of Historical Performances)
1. Wkcr Introduction
2. Afro Blue
3. Walkin'
4. Mr. P.C.
5. Alabama
6. On Green Dolphin Street
7. Autumn Leaves - What's New - Moonlight In Vermont
8. Rifftide


Artist JOHN COLTRANE feat. Art Blakey, Miles Davis, Eric Dolphy
Title American Broadcast Collection 1951-1963
Catalogue No HH6CDBOX3007
Format 6CD Box with 16 Page Colour Booklet
Barcode 5297961300736