THE GRATEFUL DEAD, TOWER OF POWER, SANTANA, etc. - Snack Benefit Concert, San Francisco 1975 (5CD)

Category: ROX VOX CDs

• Entire original K101-FM broadcast of the San Francisco SNACK (Students Need Athletics, Culture & Kicks) Benefit
• Held at Kezar Stadium on 25th March 1975
• Professionally re-mastered with background liners
• Full Colour 12 Page Booklet and rare archival photos
• 5 CD Box with over 45 Tracks

SNACK Benefit Concert featuring: The Grateful Dead, Tower Of Power, Santana, The Doobie Brothers, Jefferson Starship, Joan Baez, Neil Young, Bob Dylan & Friends

When it was reported that San Francisco's school board lacked the money to continue funding extra-curricular activities, Bill Graham swiftly organized the SNACK ('Students Need Athletics, Culture & Kicks') Benefit, which took place in the city's vast Kezar Stadium in March 1975.

The remarkable bill featured Santana, the Doobie Brothers, Jefferson Starship, Joan Baez, Neil Young, Bob Dylan and others and the music they played that momentous Sunday, broadcast on K101-FM, is presented here together with background notes and images.


Disc One
The Grateful Dead
1. Paul Kantner Interviews Jerry Garcia
2. Band Intro
3. Blues For Allah
4. Stronger Than Dirt
5. Drums
6. Stronger Than Dirt
7. Blues For Allah
8. DJ Chat
9. Johnny B. Goode (Encore)

Disc Two
Tower Of Power
1. Band Intros - Jam - What Is Hip
2. Band Intros - Down To The Nightclub
3. Sparkling In The Sand - Jam - Sparkling In The Sand
4. (To Say The Least) You're The Most
5. You're Still A Young Man

6. Band Intro - Jam - Black Magic Woman - Gypsy Queen - Oye Como Va
7. Los Breos
8. Soul Sacrifice

Disc Three
The Doobie Brothers
1. Bill Graham Intro - Jesus Is Just Alright
2. Neal's Fandango
3. Take Me In Your Arms
4. Black Water
5. Workin' On You
6. Long Train Runnin' - Jam - DJ Outro
7. China Grove

Jefferson Starship
8. Ride The Tiger
9. Fast Buck Freddie
10. Git Fiddler
11.Play On Love
12. I Want To See Another World
13. Sweeter Than Honey (Instrumental)

Disc Four
Jefferson Starship (continued)
1. Somebody To Love
2. Volunteers

Joan Baez
3. I Shall Be Released
4. Help Me Make It Through The Night
5. Bridging The Gap (Unaccompanied)
6. Joe Hill
7. All My Trials - The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
8. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
9. Amazing Grace

Disc Five
Neil Young, Bob Dylan & Friends
1. Intro - Are You Ready For The Country?
2. Ain't That A Lotta Love
3. Lookin' For A Love
4. Loving You (Is Sweeter Than Ever)
5. I Want You
6. The Weight
7. Helpless
8. Knockin' On A Dragon's Door


Title Snack Benefit Concert, San Francisco 1975
Catalogue No RV5CD2092
Format 5CD Clamshell Box with Individual Card Wallets
Barcode 5292317209220