REO SPEEDWAGON - Metro Centre Rockford IL 15-07-83 (CD)

Category: KLONDIKE CDs

• Classic live radio broadcast from 1983
• Includes the entire broadcast
• Digitally remastered for enhanced sound quality
• Background liners

Riding high on the success of Hi-Infidelity, their promotional tour for 1983's follow-up Good Trouble comprised a set list of selections from those two albums sharing the spotlight with Back On The Road Again from 1979's Nine Lives and Unidentified Flying Tuna Trot from You Can Tune A Piano, But You Can't Tuna Fish (1978).

It's undeniable that the band was at its peak here with Richrath's composure commanding the stage alongside Cronin's charismatic presence. Founding members Neal Doughty and drummer Alan Gratzer would form the backbone on stage, an added strength combined with the sharp contrast of dynamics fielded by Richrath's feverish soloing and enigmatic performance.

Billboard hits such as Take It On The Run, Don't Let Him Go and Keep On Loving You were gratefully received by the audience at the relatively new Metro Centre in Illinois where the band were accompanied by the local FM recording unit and Canadian band Red Rider who opened for the band on their February dates. Alongside Styx, Chicago and Toto, REO Speedwagon personified 'Stadium Rock' and announced its presence in a new era of live music.

Klondike's professionally re-mastered broadcast of the entire Rockford show performance originally aired on 15th July 1983 establishes REO Speedwagon as emperors of the arena defining their place in the chronicles of American rock and in the dawn of a new musical era.


1. Reo Intro
2. Good Trouble
3. Don't Let Him Go
4. Keep Pushin'
5. Kevin Talks
6. Lets BeBop
7. Tough Guys
8. The Key
9. Kevin Introduces Song
10. Take It On The Run
11. Keep On Loving You
12. Kevin Talks
13. Unidentified Flying Tuna Trot
14. Stillness Of The Night
15. Back On The Road Again
16. Ridin' The Storm Out
17. Shakin' It Loose
18. Band Intros & Closing


Title Metro Centre Rockford IL 15-07-83
Catalogue No KLCD5016
Format CD
Barcode 5291012501615