DAVID JOHANSEN - Live At Bunky's Madison WI 04-07-78 (CD)

Category: ECHOES CDs

• Exquisite Performance on WIBA-FM 101.5 July 4th 1978 Live at Bunky's Italian Restaurant
• Includes the entire broadcast
• Digitally remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
• Background liners

Having survived the inevitable implosion of what is sometimes referred to as either the first seventies rock band or the last sixties rock band, the New York Dolls' ambisexual and anarchic frontman David Johansen looked, as always, to the present.

Johansen had stubbornly decided that scandalizing rock 'n' roll homophobes had run it's course in that particular guise by 1974 after Mercury had finally pulled the plug. The rapid acceptance of his debut solo album by disc jockeys in places such as Atlanta, Denver and New York, where the Dolls got very little air, signified vitality, not compromise.

He had triumphantly signalled his defiance and determination in salvaging something from the aftermath of the New York Dolls. Showcasing new material from his debut self-titled album at Bunky's restaurant in 1978, Johansen's sexually charged, comedic furore waded in with a selection of 60s hits, three Dolls classics and the contents of his album.

Just seventeen nights later, Johansen appeared at the Bottom Line in New York with virtually the same set list and a guest appearance by Johnny Thunders. This has been made available as The David Johansen Group Live.

Echoes presents the previously unavailable entire WIBA-FM 101.5 recording of David Johansen's appearance at Bunky's Italian Restaurant on 4th July 1978.

Fully re-mastered sound with liners and photos.


1. Cool Metro
2. Looking For A Kiss
3. Not That Much
4. Funky But Chic
5. Donna
6. I'm A Lover
7. Build Me Up Buttercup
8. I Found A Love
9. Gimme A Pigfoot
10. Love Child
11. Reach Out (I'll Be There)
12. Frenchette
13. Lonely Tenement
14. Personality Crisis
15. It's A Heartache
16. Personality Crisis
17. DJ Outro


Title Live At Bunky's Madison WI 04-07-78
Catalogue No ECHOCD2009
Format CD
Barcode 5291012200914