THE PIXIES - Subbacultcha (CD)

Category: ECHOES CDs

• Melodic performance at Emerson College, Boston, Massachusetts on January 18th 1987
• Includes the entire WERS-FM broadcast
• Digitally remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
• Background liners

Massachusetts' own melodic misfits The Pixies, had only been together properly for a little over a year when they made their appearance at the Emerson College studio in their hometown of Boston in January 1987.

Charles Thompson (aka Black Francis), Joey Santiago, Kim Deal and David Lovering hadn't even finished recording their first demo tape so their performance here is a remarkable piece of posterity for fans and also boasts the inclusion of Boom Chicka Boom and Subbacultcha, two songs that never made it past the live or demo stage. Indeed, their WERS studio broadcast at Emerson College could easily be considered as their first recording session with only three tunes missing here from the seventeen tracks that make up their demo tape recorded later elsewhere.

Most of the songs here would appear later on albums such as Come On Pilgrim and Surfer Rosa, but the versions performed here present them in their most dynamic and embryonic state. What happened after this particular session and their demo is inscribed into numerous memory banks, iPods, blogs and books.

Echoes proudly presents the entire WERS-FM broadcast of The Pixies in session at Emerson College, Boston, Massachusetts on January 18th 1987.

Featuring exclusive and rare tracks, professionally re-mastered original broadcast with background liners and rare archival photos.


1. The Holiday Song
2. I'm Amazed
3. Rock A My Soul
4. Isla De Encanta
5. Caribou
6. Broken Face
7. I've Been Tired
8. Build High
9. Break My Body
10. Ed Is Dead
11. Nimrod's Son
12. Down To The Well
13. Subbacultcha
14. Boom Chicka Boom
15. Vamos
16. In Heaven
17. Interview


Title Subbacultcha
Catalogue No ECHOCD2042
Format CD
Barcode 5291012204219