MILES DAVIS - Fillmore West 15-10-70 (2LP)

Category: HI HAT LPs

• Sensational performance at The Fillmore West 15th October 1970
• Includes the entire broadcast
• Remastered sound
• Background notes/photos included
• First time on Vinyl
• 2 x 180g Vinyl w/ insert in sleeve

1970 presented a controversial cornerstone for the jazz pioneer as it proved to be the most consistently intriguing part of his forty-year career. Prior to this, Davis had performed exclusively in jazz clubs and festivals and he was "shocked at how few people were coming to Miles' concerts".

But by the beginning of 1970, in conjunction with the release of Bitches Brew in April, Davis began appearing at rock venues sharing the bill with established rockers like Steve Miller, Grateful Dead and Neil Young, often playing to an audience of thousands. His appearance at the Bill Graham's Fillmore West in October 1970 highlighted the transitional phase in Davis' career and none better than the 15th October show for which the septet produced a relatively consistent set list in order to provide a cross-section of his repertoire to a less familiar and more youthful audience.

In hindsight, an important move on the trumpeter's part, as he acknowledged that this was the demographic he would need to capture if he were to remain both fresh and relevant. Recorded by KPFA-FM, Miles Davis was rapturously applauded by a relatively fresh audience who endorsed his profound diversity. Having already witnessed more familiar opening acts that day such as Sea Train, Hammer and Leon Russell, an optimistic manner reflected the jazz musicians' own sense of adventure which stood in opposition to the established jazz fraternity that had already turned it's back on his new direction.

Hi Hat's masterful tribute to the iconic jazz musician portrays the depth and diversity at work at such a vitally important point in Davis' career.

A lovingly restored broadcast recording, fully re-mastered with analytical liners and photos, this performance embodies a true genius at work.


Side One
1. Honky Tonk

Side Two
1. What I Say
2. Sanctuary

Side Three
1. Yesternow

Side Four
1. Bitches Brew
2. Funky Tonk - The Theme


Title Fillmore West 15-10-70
Catalogue No HH2LP001
Format 2LP
Barcode 5297961900127