PAT METHENY - New York November 1979 (2CD)

Category: HI HAT CDs

• Explosive performance broadcast on WLIR-FM
• Digitally remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
• Background liners

The Pat Metheny Group, live at the Hofstra Playhouse, Hempstead, New York on November 17th 1979

The Pat Metheny Group formed in 1977 and were swiftly acclaimed as one of America's foremost fusion bands. Their second album, American Garage, appeared in June 1979,and reached #1 on the Billboard jazz chart soon afterwards, propelled by the uptempo (Cross the) Heartland, which became their signature tune.

This superb set was recorded for broadcast on WLIR-FM and WRVR-FM later that year and finds the quartet on fiery form.

It's presented here together with background notes and images.


Disc One
1. Introduction
2. Phase Dance
3. Airstream
4. Pat Chats
5. April Joy
6. Unity Village - The House Of The Rising Sun - The Windup
7. The Epic

Disc Two
1. James
2. Old Folks
3. Jaco
4. The Magician's Theater
5. San Lorenzo
6. Thank You / Band Intros
7. Cross The Heartland
8. Announcer
9. American Garage


Title New York November 1979
Catalogue No HH2CD3068
Format 2CD
Barcode 5297961306813