FLATTS & SCRUGGS - New River Ranch Rising Sun, Maryland 1959 - 1961 (CD)

Category: ECHOES CDs

• Brilliant live performance live at the New River Ranch Rising Sun, Maryland
• Includes the entire FM radio broadcast
• Digitally remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
• Background liners

Flatt & Scruggs, Live on the Radio, at New River Ranch Rising Sun, Maryland 1959-1961

Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs were among the greatest bluegrass performers. Recorded for broadcast at the New River Ranch in Rising Sun, Maryland between 1959 and 1961, this CD documents the pair in their prime.

The wide assortment of material includes standards like 'Foggy Mountain Breakdown', 'Orange Blossom Special' and 'Gotta Travel On', as well as favorites from their early recording career like 'Dim Lights, Thick Smoke' and 'I'll Go Stepping Too'.


1. Intro
2. Instrumental
3. Maggie Blues
4. The Sputnik Dog
5. Flint Hill Special
6. I Know What I Means To Be Lonesome
7. Little Darlin' Pal Of Mine
8. Black Eyed Susie
9. Don't Let Your Deal Go Down
10. Instrumental
11. Bugle Call Rag
12. Blues On My Mind
13. Gotta Travel On
14. I'm On My Way To Canaan's Land
15. Georgia Buck
16. I Won't Be Hanging Around
17. Instrumental
18. Baby You Gotta Quit That Noise
19. Six White Horses
20. Before I Met You
21. Earl's Breakdown
22. I'll Go Stepping Too
23. Cotton Eyed Joe
24. I'm Head Over Heels In Love
25. Orange Blossom Special
26. Dim Lights Thick Smoke
27. Foggy Mountain Breakdown
28. Big Black Train
29. I Saw Mother With God Last Night
30. What's The Matter Now?
31. Listen To The Mockingbird
32. I Know What It Means To Be Lonesome
33. Fire On The Mountain


Title New River Ranch Rising Sun, Maryland 1959 - 1961
Catalogue No ECHOCD2090
Format CD
Barcode 5291012209016