JOHN MELLENCAMP - Live... 4th July 1992 (2CD)

Category: ECHOES CDs

• Brilliant performance live from Deer Creek Music Center
• Includes the entire ABC-TV broadcast
• Digitally remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
• Background liners

ABC in Concert presents Ain't That America: A July 4th Celebration with John Mellencamp. Live from Deer Creek Music Center, Noblesville Indiana, 1992

Although John Mellencamp had enjoyed a commercial breakthrough with American Fool a decade beforehand, his appeal would gain further ground in October 1991 with the release of Whenever We Wanted. The album's success was triggered by the #14 billboard hit Get A Leg Up which gave Last Chance, Love and Happiness and Now, More Than Ever a head start on the chart.

"It's very rock 'n' roll," Mellencamp said of Whenever We Wanted. "I just wanted to get back to the basics".

Aside from yielding a further flurry of chart and FM hits, Whenever We Wanted also measured his popularity and continuing appeal with fans in a new decade. There was no better day to play to a crowd than 4th July and no better place than Indianapolis, his home turf and most loyal base where over 20,000 'cougars' arrived with their 'bonus' tickets in hand to party.

Echoes proudly presents the entire original show which was carried on 150 radio stations and broadcast on ABC-TV's ABC in Concert Presents: Ain't That America: A July 4th celebration with John Mellencamp. Live from Deer Creek Music Center on Independence Day 1992.


Disc One
1. Love And Happiness
2. Paper In Fire
3. Jack And Diane
4. Lonely Ol' Night
5. Check It Out
6. Rain On The Scarecrow
7. Martha Say
8. The Real Life
9. Rumble Seat
10. Get A Leg Up
11. Jackie Brown

Disc Two
1. Small Town
2. Minutes To Memories
3. Now More Than Ever
4. Pop Singer
5. Crumblin' Down
6. R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A.
7. Play Guitar
8. Hurts So Good
9. Authority Song, Land Of 1000 Dances
10. Pink Houses
11. Cherry Bomb


Title Live... 4th July 1992
Catalogue No ECHO2CD2065
Format 2CD
Barcode 5291012206510