TOWNES VAN ZANDT - Whole Coffeehouse, Minneapolis MN 9 November 1973 (CD)

Category: ECHOES CDs

• Sensational Performance at the Whole Coffeehouse, Minneapolis by the 'best songwriter in the whole world' in 1973
• Includes the entire broadcast
• Digitally remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
• Background liners

Famously heralded by Steve Earle as 'the best songwriter in the whole world and I'll stand on Bob Dylan's coffee table in my cowboy boots and say that', Townes Van Zandt was at the peak of his career in 1973.

Fresh off releasing two of his finest albums a year earlier (High, Low and In Between and The Late Great Townes Van Zandt), his celebrated appearances also grew in stature. Likewise, as a number of his other live performances demonstrate, the Whole Coffeehouse set features nothing but the man and his guitar, something that could stand at odds with a number of his cherished studio recordings.

For a man whose own battles with the bottle were notorious (and made for an unpredictable onstage career), his focus here is acute and laser sharp, every syllable perfectly placed with each ephemeral note carefully conveying their purpose.

The Whole Coffeehouse in 1973 is an essential addition to the late great Van Zandt discography. Whether singing a quiet, introspective country folk song or a driving, hungry blues riff; Van Zandt's lyrics and melodies were filled with the kind of haunting truth and succulent beauty that were instinctive.

This was soul music; it came straight from his soul by way of a kind heart and an honest mind. Melancholic, reflective and always pure and devout, his story is our story.

Echoes very proudly presents the long awaited release of Townes Van Zandt's landmark appearance at the Whole Coffeehouse in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in 1973.

Fully re-mastered FM broadcast with background liners and rare photos.


1. Radio Introduction
2. I'll Meet You In The Morning
3. Cuckoo Song
4. Hobo Bill
5. Where I Lead Me
6. Broke Down Engine Blues
7. For The Sake Of The Song
8. Nothing
9. Molly And Ten Brooks
10. Talking Thunderbird Blues
11. Pancho And Lefty
12. Mr Mudd And Mr Gold
13. Tecumseh Valley
14. The Ballad Of Ira Hayes
15. (Quicksilver Dreams Of) Maria
16. Tying Ten Knots In The Devil's Tail


Title Whole Coffeehouse, Minneapolis MN 9 November 1973
Catalogue No ECHOCD2023
Format CD
Barcode 5291012202314