BLACK UHURU - The Ritz, NY, Oct '81 (CD)

Category: AIR CUTS CDs

• Includes the entire WBLS-FM broadcast
• Digitally Remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
• Background liners

Black Uhuru, live from The Ritz, New York on October 13th 1981

By 1981, Black Uhuru's line-up consisted of Michael Rose, Sandra 'Puma' Jones and Derek 'Duckie' Simpson, augmented by the legendary Sly & Robbie. Originally broadcast on WBLS-FM, this superb performance showcases their classic Red album, alongside earlier material, and typifies their tight, exciting sound.

Performed barely three months after the death of Bob Marley, it carries a distinct emotional charge and is presented here together with background notes and images.


1. Introduction By Frankie Crocker
2. Shine Eye Gal - Plastic Smile
3. Puff She Puff
4. I Love King Selassie
5. Youths Of Elgington
6. Push Push
7. General Penitentiary
8. Happiness Is - The Whole World Is Africa
9. Sponji Reggae
10. Sensimilla
11. Crowd / MC
12. Guess Who's Coming To Dinner - Abortion


Title The Ritz, NY, Oct '81
Catalogue No ACCD8009
Format CD
Barcode 5292317800915